FIFA Player of the Year nominees announced as Premier League stars make cut with Messi and Ronaldo


FIFA has announced the 10-man shortlist for the FIFA player of the Year 2019 award, with three players from last season’s Champions League winners Liverpool.

Strikers Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane are joined by defender Virgil van Dijk as the trio helped Liverpool to the Champions League title last season while also reaching the Premier League title.

Also on the list is Lionel Messi, who helped Barcelona win La Liga last season and also won the European Golden Shoe.FIFA Player of the Year

Tottenham striker Harry Kane, former Ajax defender and current Juventus Mattijs de Ligt, another Ajax star who joined Barcelona Frenkie de Jong are also among the candidates.

Chelsea’s Europa League winner and current Real Madrid player Eden Hazard is also in the 10-man shortlist for the FIFA player of the year 2019 award.

Cristiano Ronaldo, who won his first Serie A title with Juventus, is also in contention.

Fifa player of the year 2019 nominees:

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)
Frenkie de Jong (Ajax / Barcelona)
Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax / Juventus)
Eden Hazard (Chelsea / Real Madrid)
Harry Kane (Tottenham)
Saido Mane (Liverpool)
Kylian Mbappe (PSG)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

The 10 shortlist for the FIFA Coach of the Year award has already been announced

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.